skip to Main Content
Call 775-400-1322 For An Initial Consultation info@hrindemand.com

Your Employee Might Need Leave…Now What?

What is Required When Implementing Leave of Absence Policies?
By Charlotte Altamirano, HR Consultant

Navigating leave of absence policies at the workplace can be tricky – so tricky that the HR world is calling leave policies the “New Bermuda Triangle.” These policies can spark a lot of questions for employers and employees, such as:

  1. Who is eligible?
  2. What are the employer’s legal requirements?
  3. How does a serious health condition come into play with FMLA and ADA?

The Bermuda Triangle is known for its mystery, but leave policies don’t have to be! Starting with some quick facts helps demystify employer obligations.

Workers’ Compensation (WC) applies to all employers and employees.

Family Medical Leave Act (FMLA) applies to any business with 50 or more employees. Employees are eligible for FMLA when they meet all three of the following criteria:

  • They have worked for the employer for at least 12 months
  • They have at least 1,250 hours of service with the employer during the 12-month period immediately preceding the leave
  • They work at a location where the employer has at least 50 employees within a 75 miles radius

If an employee is eligible for FMLA, they are able to take up to 12 workweeks in a 12-month period of leave.

Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) applies to any business with 15 or more employees.

Employers need to be ready to handle each leave policy individually, even though the policies may overlap. Some of the most important considerations for employers include:

Read More

Do You Need to Audit Your I-9s?

Have You Ever Scribbled or Used White-Out on Your I-9s? Then Read This!
By: Melissa Marsh, MA, SPHR, SHRM-SCP

At HRinDemand, we often help our clients ensure that their I-9 files are in order. It’s so easy to unknowingly make mistakes, and many small businesses do. We see Form I-9 mistakes such as:

  • Section 1 not being completed correctly by employees
  • Employees not dating or using their birth date for the signature date (don’t ask me why, but it happens a lot!)
  • Employers not recording the work authorization documents properly in Section 2
  • Failure to enter the hire date in Section 2
  • Using white-out
Read More

Updated 2018 Labor Law Bulletins – Are You Compliant?

Two Updated State of Nevada, 2018 Annual Labor Law Bulletins
By: Melissa Marsh, MA, SPHR, SHRM-SCP

Have you updated your labor law postings to comply with the State of Nevada’s recent 2018 Annual Bulletins? It is required that all employers post information about a variety of requirements in a conspicuous location in each workplace. On April 1, 2018, the State of Nevada published two updates that require posting. Find links to both Bulletins below – go to the link and print the bulletin to post in your workplace.

Read More

State of Nevada Domestic Violence Bulletin – Jan. 1, 2018

Are you aware of the recent State of Nevada Domestic Violence updates to Senate Bill 361, which became effective January 1, 2018? The Domestic Violence Bulletin states:

“An employee who has been employed by an employer for at 90 days and who is a victim of an act which constitutes domestic violence, or whose family or household member is a victim of an act which constitutes domestic

Read More

New Nevada Pregnant Workers’ Fairness Act

Are You in Compliance with the New Nevada Pregnant Workers’ Fairness Act?
By: Melissa Marsh, M
A, SPHR, SHRM-SCP

Did you know that Nevada employers have a new legal obligation to pregnant employees? On June 2, 2017, the Nevada Pregnant Workers’ Fairness Act (SB 253) was adopted and it applies to employers with 15 or more employees. Notice requirements under this bill went into effect on June 2, 2017, and the remainder of the Act becomes effective on October 1, 2017.

The Act requires that employers must give certain notices to all employees and additional notices to pregnant employees within a specific timeline of learning about the pregnancy.

According to labor attorney, Molly Malone Rezac with Ogletree, Deakins, Nash, Smoak & Stewart, P.C.:

there are three specific times when notice must be provided:

  1. The employer shall post the notice in a conspicuous place at the place of business of the employer that is located in an area accessible to employees.
  2. The employer shall provide the notice to all new employees.
  3. The employer shall provide the notice (again) to an employee, within 10 days after the employee notifies their immediate supervisor that they are pregnant.
Read More
Back To Top